Lancer seniors recognized by generous community


North Scott's Class of 2018 was rewarded for its hard work in the classroom on Wednesday, May 9, when the North Scott Educational Foundation (NSEF) and other generous community donors handed out college scholarships.

The 37th annual North Scott Honors Assembly took place in the Fine Arts Auditorium, where prior to the scholarship presentation ceremony, Lancer sophomores, juniors and seniors were recognized for their academic achievement, having earned GPAs of 3.5-3.749 (second honors); 3.75-3.99 (first honors); and 4.0 (excellence). Those photos will be published in an upcoming issue of The NSP.

The evening’s guest speaker, through a message recorded from his dressing room on Broadway, was 1995 graduate and 2018 Hall of Excellence recipient Curt Bouril.

In her opening statement, NSEF President Diana Vollbeer announced two new scholarships, including the $4,000 Robert and Dorothy Lage Memorial Scholarship and the $500 Francis Nass Memorial Scholarship.

While seniors were rewarded for years of hard work, the NSEF was the driving force, as it handed out 79 scholarships for a total of $103,550. In addition, since its inception 32 years ago, the foundation has now given away 961 scholarships totalling more than $1,446,000.

NSEF board members are: Diana Vollbeer (president), Randy Siemsen (vice president), Deb Shannon (secretary), Jim Tank (treasurer), Scott Campbell (scholarship chairman), Susan Blaskovich, Carmen Darland, Kathy Kilen, Barry Lahann, Tracy Lindaman, Chris Porter, Clarence (Butch) Richlen and Dr. Donald Sierk.

Additionally, seniors benefitted from awards given by 26 other organizations and individuals in the community. Colleges and universities also added to the students' bottom line, doling out thousands of dollars to cover or partially cover tuition costs for the graduating seniors.

NSP photos by Scott Campbell.

North Scott High School, North Scott Educational Foundation, North Scott Honors Assembly, Curt Bouril, Diana Vollbeer, North Scott Hall of Excellence, Robert & Dorothy Lage Memorial Scholarship, Francis Nass Memorial Scholarship, Randy Siemsen, Deb Shannon, Jim Tank, Scott Campbell, Susan Blaskovich, Carmen Darland, Kathy Kilen, Barry Lahann, Tracy Lindaman, Chris Porter, Clarence Richlen, Donald Sierk, Steffan Nass, Sandy Nass, Ellie Stonskas, Jane McCurdy, Rich McCurdy, Isaac Mize, Kevin Bohach, Gigi Bohach, Blain Judkins, Mac Stixx Music Scholarship, Porter Insurance Scholarships, Brenna Kundel, Breanna Kilburg, Travis Claussen, Jeff Mitchell Memorial Scholarship, Kori Blumer, Peyton Weida, Porter-Robinson Family Scholarship, Travis Doty, Charlie Balsar, Erin Gehrls, Makenzie Tank Memorial Scholarship, Ken Tank, Annette Tank, Wilma Zabel Memorial Scholarship, Madalyn Latham, Maddie Case, Paul Meyer Chemical Scholarships, Drake Golinghorst, North Scott Science Faculty Scholarship, Sofia Hawley, Jean Mohr Bennett Scholarship, Heather Hoeger, Art Blavat Memorial Scholarship, Jennifer Swoboda, Brenna Meier, Sara Weisbeck, Joyce Brockhouse Family Scholarship, Sam Reyes, Karl Christoff, Christoff-DeBiose Health Care Scholarship, Tony Barreca, Craig Ohl, Linda Ohl Memorial Scholarship, Lance Heuer, Heuer Family Christian Scholarship, Mark Beno, Carol Moeller, James & Helen Madden Scholarship, Makylee Ewoldt, Sharm Wenndt, Diana Wenndt Memorial Scholarship, Delaney Kilburg, John Carmody, Marilee Carmody Memorial Scholarship, Adelyn Carmody, Karen Collins, Collins Family-Shepard Scholarship, Alexis Hayes, Wilford Family Scholarship, Natalie Mitchell, North Scott Wrestling Club, Brynn Dexter, Ray Oles Science Scholarship, Joseph Slater, Judith Jacobs Performing Arts Scholarship, Madison Bergman, Mitchell Hayes Memorial Scholarship, Aurora Gentz, Tina Lindle, Tina VaDeWiele Memorial Scholarship, Kaeli Verbrugge, Lydia Ralfs, Charlotte Mohr Scholarship, Alyssa Schnoor, Jessica Irving, Bear Stevens Memorial Scholarship, Reed Smith, Elmer Happy & Evelyn Schlunsen Memorial Scholarship, Melvin Heiler Memorial Scholarship, Leah Van Hal, Nicholas Boddicker, Mickey McArthur Memorial Scholarship, Kendal Newman, Brittany Bullock, Blake Sievers Memorial Scholarship, Alfonzo Bojorquez, Laura Wiley, Mike Richlen Memorial Scholarship, Megan Wilmott, Arline Darland Music Scholarship, Lindsey Cobie, Ivy Jensen, Tim Dose Memorial Scholarship, Stephanie Black, Virgil Grissom PTA Scholarship, Rebekah Doering, Alexis Ernst, Ambrose Kearney Memorial Scholarship, Bill Kearney, Jaden Boley, Taylor Hendricksen, Cale Bowe, Nicole Kearney, Memphis Kearney, Ben Stutting, Bailey Tague, Brylee Blanchard, Rachel Lee, Keegan Harry, Olivia Otte, Jeremy Moreland Memorial Scholarship, Schneckloth-Darland Memorial Scholarship, Paige Tomlinson, Joe Gross, PFLAG Scholarship, Isabella Whitcomb, Bessie Sierk Memorial Scholarship, Roy & Myrtle Keppy Scholarship, Alexis Ramos, Hannah Grimm, Hannah Link, Carson Kruse, Alfred & Helen Arp Scholarship, Aly Cuppy, Yuji Lopez, Mabel Carstens, Destiny Cooksey, Michael Reed Memorial Scholarship, Katie Finnegan, Jacob Reed, Nicki Janoski, Deanna Reed, Amy Shannon, Dennis Shannon Memorial Scholarship, Kora Nagle, Clayton Schoenthaler, North Scott Educational Foundation Scholarship, Emily Latham, Katherine Carriere, Kylee Friederichs, Brooks Sunny, Scott County Farm Bureau Scholarship, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation Scholarship, Shane Knoche, Angela Reese, Mississippi Valley Regional Blood Center Gallon Grad Award, Bailey Tague, John Mack, AXA Achievement Scholarship, North Scott Optimist Club Scholarship, Erin Gentz, North Scott Lightning Scholarship, Shelby Schmidt, Long Grove Lions Club Scholarship, Kamryn Luett, Eldridge Lions Club Scholarship, Dave Curlott, Martha Behnke, North Scott Kiwanis Club Scholarship, Tom Andresen, Eldridge-North Scott Chamber of Commerce Scholarship, Nikki Dillon, North Scott Trapshooting Club, Scott Roenfeldt, Scott Roth Memorial Scholarship, Sydney Cronkleton, Michael Mohr, North Scott Soccer Club Scholarship, Henry Latham, Foster's Voice Scholarship, Kevin Atwood, Jamie Atwood, Long Grove Civic League Scholarship, Joni Kuehl-Schneider, DuTrac Community Credit Union Scholarship, Matt Briehl, National Council on Youth Leadership Scholarship, Jasmine Bozeman, Scott Case, Iowa Association of Realtors Scholarship, Custom-Pak Founders Scholarship, Ron Zimmer, Kylee Friederichs, Dave Helton, Iowa State Troopers Association Scholarship, Austin Helton, Jack Grolmus Memorial Scholarship, Frank Wood, North Scott Teachers Association Scholarship, American Citizenship Award, Brian Fairchild, North Scott Rotary Scholarship, Keith Matke Memorial Scholarship